FOR MY FELLOW CELIACS/GLUTEN SENSITIVE OR INTOLERANT, PLEASE READ THIS:
Since the FDA labeling law on Gluten has come into effect, I have been much more vigilant in checking ALL my product labels, especially products I always "thought" were safe, to ensure they made the less than 20 ppm cut to be considered gluten free.
El Paso Taco Seasoning is a brand I've been using for years, pre and post diagnosis, but their label made me scratch my head and wonder, "Was I unknowingly inviting gluten to my fiestas of flavor?"
So I contacted the company myself:
>Original Message From:
>Originated by Consumer: Hello, I have Celiac Disease, and was inquiring about your 40% less sodium taco seasoning. I do not see gluten/wheat as an ingredient OR a statement that says "manufactured in a facility that produces wheat" so I am wondering, IF your product is gluten free/Celiac safe?
This is the response I received from El Paso:
A lengthy email that essentially states, if it's not labeled gluten free, it's NOT safe
Dear Ms. -----
Thank you for contacting us about gluten in Old El Paso less sodium taco seasoning mix.
General Mills offers several products that are labeled gluten-free. Please check the package label for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package. Only products that can be verified to be gluten free will be declared as gluten free on the label. It is important to check the product label each time you purchase a product because it has the most accurate information about the product in the package.
Because we constantly strive to improve our products′ quality and nutritional value, the most up-to-date product information is on the package the product is purchased in. For that reason, we do not distribute product information lists as they could quickly become outdated. It is important to check the package label before purchasing for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package to verify that the package you choose is gluten free.
For products not labeled gluten free, we will always declare gluten containing ingredients if they are added to the product. If the ingredient declaration lists wheat, barley, rye, or derivatives of these grains, then the product contains gluten. Examples of derivative ingredients include: malt, barley malt, semolina, Durham, triticale and spelt. We do not include gluten in other ingredients; for example it would not be part of ‘Natural Flavors’, or ‘Spices.’ If there are gluten ingredients in our products, those ingredients are always clearly listed.
If there are no gluten-containing ingredients listed in the product ingredient label, but the product does not make a gluten free claim, it is because we cannot fully assure that this product is gluten free. While we have not added gluten-containing ingredients, factors such as sourcing, conditions of manufacture, etc. do not allow us to provide the full level of assurance that a gluten free claim requires.
Visit the Live Better America website www.LiveBetterAmerica.com for a list of General Mills Gluten Free Foods (Type in: ‘Gluten Free Product List’ in the Search Box), Gluten Free recipes, and other resources. Gluten Free recipes are also available on www.BettyCrocker.com.
We hope this information is helpful.
There are TONS of variations on the internet, depending on your spice preference or how fancy you want to be, but most are a mixture of : Cumin, Chili Powder, Garlic Powder, & Onion Powder!
Looking for a pre made mix: McCormick has a labeled Gluten Free Taco Seasoning BUT it contains milk